Let’s Hear It For Time Bandit!

I am an avid sailor. For the past 6 months I had to take a hiatus due to health reasons but my love for sailing never stopped.

Over the course of my sailing “career” I have sailed on many sailboats. J24, Melges 24, J29, J35 and a few I can’t really remember.

My favorite is the J35, Time Bandit. This is the boat we race on and do our play sails on most of the time. Words can’t describe how special this boat is to us. So many memories and fun times!!

This past Saturday the crew took her out for race (I was at Prenatal Yoga Teacher Training, post coming for that one).

As Time Bandit was getting ready for the start of the race, main and jib up, the mast snapped. Luckily no one was hurt and the conditions weren’t too bad. It was rainy with knots around 8 to 10 knots. They were able to get the sails and the rig back on the boat.

With this, the Time Bandit crew assembled at the yacht club Sunday morning to help take care of our girl.

Yes that is a bucket where the mast goes :)

Yes that is a bucket where the mast goes 🙂

Sunday was beautiful! Everyone was outside enjoying the weather! As we were cleaning off the sails I looked around at everyone on the water. This included some sailboats as there was another race going on.

20150301_100314

20150301_100149

I even had some yoga fun!

20150301_101432

Once we got the sails cleaned off, we took off upstairs to kick back and have a drink while the sails dried. Then my husband had a brilliant idea, let’s take the boat out!!!

You don’t need sails to take a sail boat out! We had so much fun!!!

20150301_115247 20150301_115905 20150301_120624 20150301_122125

The wind started to die out so we ended up towing a couple of boats back to the yacht club.

20150301_125318

Hopefully we can get a new stick in her soon so she will be back out sailing again soon!!!

5 responses to “Let’s Hear It For Time Bandit!

  1. Sailing and yoga!!! FUN!!! Love your headstand!! Beautiful!!! XOXO

  2. They do a fundraiser here each summer for a charity and they have free sailboats rides. It’s a lot of fun!!! Next time I’m in your neck of the woods, you need to take me for a ride!!!

  3. Ah, sailing. So meditative, being on the water. Used to do a lot of sailing when living in Florida. Never owned my own boat, but my best friend had a 34′ Erickson that we would sail to the Bahamas on lots of weekends. And boat people! They are another breed. Love em. Miss the lifestyle. That looks like a beautiful boat!

    • Boat people are definitely another breed!! It’s a great lifestyle for sure 🙂

      We don’t own that boat but a very good friend of ours does. We race with him on that boat and then we take for play sails around the bay.

      It is a perk of living in Florida, sailing year round!!

      Sailing to the Bahamas sounds amazing!!!

Leave a comment